Confab endorses creation of Njaba-Anim, Ijebu, Aba, 15 other states, proposes Presidency rotation


Members of the ongoing National Conference holding in Abuja yesterday July 3rd while deliberating on the report of the committee on political restructuring and forms of Government in Nigeria, endorsed the creation of 18 new states to add to the existing 36 states. They also endorsed the rotation of the Presidency between the North and South and other Geo-political zones in the country.

The members suggested the creation of a state for the South-East geopolitical zone which has only 5 states in order to bring the number to 6 which is the number of states of other zones, apart from the North -West, which has seven. Continue…

Some of the proposed states approved by the Confab are Apa from Benue State, Kainji from Kebbi, Katagum from Bauchi, Savannah from Borno, Amana from Adamawa, Gurara from Kaduna, Ghari from Kano, Etiti from South East, Aba from Abia, Adada from Enugu, Njaba-Anim from Anambra and Imo,  Anioma from Delta State, Orashi from Rivers State, Ogoja from Cross River State, IJebu from Ogun State and New Oyo State from the present Oyo State.

The Conference is to later determine the names of the remaining two other states and their capitals, which are to be created in the South-South and South West zones. If approved by the Presidency, the number of states in the Country would now be 54.

The conference members also voted for the rotation of the Presidency between the North and South and also between the geo-political zones. They also voted against the immediate swearing-in of a Vice President into the office of the President should a sitting President die in office or be impeached.
They proposed that a Vice President should be sworn in as Acting President for 90days within which a fresh election for a new President should be held.
The delegates also agreed that the old national anthem, “Nigeria we hail thee…” should be replaced with the current one.